Werribee Off To A Winning Start in 2024

25 March 2024

Werribee is on the winner’s list in 2024 after a telling 53-point victory down the highway at Geelong.

At GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, despite a tight first half, where Werribee held a two-goal lead over the Cats at the main break, a strong four quarter effort allowed Werribee to kick away to a compelling, 7.8 (50) to 16.7 (103) win.

Harry Grintell kickstarted Werribee’s 2024 with the first goal of their season, while a Kye Declase goal from well outside 50 metres in the dying stages made it an eleven-point lead at quarter time. New recruit Riley Bice was impressive off half-back in his first quarter for the club, while Jack Henderson led the way with eight disposals.

Geelong made a fast start to the second quarter, drawing level midway through the term, however a return goal for Jay Dahlhaus and Hudson Garoni’s second major for the afternoon closed out the half to give the Big W a 12-point lead. In his 100th VFL game, captain Nick Coughlan was leading from the front, with a team-high 15 disposals at the main break, while Hudson Garoni had eight marks to go with his multiple goals.

A four goal to one third quarter gave Werribee some breathing room, in a term highlighted by key pillars down either end. Aidan Johnson converted a set shot to give him his first career goal, while defender Nathan Cooper continued his 2023 form and stood tall in the back line.

A strong finish saw Werribee kick seven last term goals, including a five unanswered goal run to close out the game, where small forward Connor Thar bobbed up for two snaps and defender Louis Pinnuck converted a long-range set shot from beyond the 50-metre arc to take Werribee to top of the ladder to close out round 1.

2023 Bruce Montgomery trophy winner Dom Brew continued where he left off, with a 30 disposal and 15 tackle game to kick off the new season. Fellow midfielders Kye Declase and Daly Andrews each picked up 27 disposals, with Andrews accumulating 5 clearances and 5 tackles to go with it, in an impressive club debut after making the switch from Williamstown. 

Geelong 2.2 4.4 5.6 7.8 (50)
Werribee 4.1 6.4 9.6 16.7 (103) 

Geelong: J. Willis 2, T. Murray 2, S. Neale, M. Knevitt, K. Bradtke
Werribee: H. Garoni 4, C. Thar 2, H. Grintell 2, J. Dahlhaus 2, L. Pinnuck, S. Paea, A. Johnson, J. Henderson, N. Hayes, K. Declase 

Werribee: N. Coughlan, D. Brew, C. Whyte, K. Declase, J. Dahlhaus, S. Conway


Following the bittersweet chapter of our history that was the 2023 season, the story continues and this year we want you back to help us achieve a different ending.Our board, our coaches, our players and our staff are ready to embark on a new season, united in our mission for the ultimate success. The question remains: Are you with us?

Sign up as a member for 2024 via INTIX here.

Gold Partners
  • CSCG


© Werribee Football Club. All rights reserved. Website by Red Onion Creative.


  • 1300 GO WERRIBEE

  • Fax: (03) 9741 0253

  • PO Box 2049 Werribee VIC 3030