Hanson makes history with fourth best and fairest

21 October 2021

Matt Hanson has made history becoming the first Werribee player to win four Bruce Montgomery Trophy best and fairest awards. 

Hanson’s triumph was announced via a virtual awards presentation on Thursday night after he polled 44 votes to claim Werribee’s top honour for 2021. 

Hanson was tied alongside Travis Robertson who has three Werribee best and fairest awards, but now stands alone at the top of the list for the club’s most prestigious honour.  

This year’s runner-up was Shaun Mannagh who polled 36 votes in his first season with the club.  

The classy forward-mid was two votes clear of third place finisher Jack Henderson (34) with tall forward Hudson Garoni (32) and veteran ruckman Matt Lobbe (31) rounding out the top five.  

Hanson’s previous Bruce Montogomery Trophy wins came in consecutive years, from 2015-2017.   

Injury limited him to just five games in 2018 and 14 in 2019, but the 26 year-old was fully fit and back to his best in 2021 playing all nine matches during this year’s COVID-affected season. 

He averaged a career high 28.6 disposals per game, along with 4.6 marks and 5.1 tackles while leading the team in clearances (62) and inside 50s (54).  

He said it was a huge privilege to be awarded a fourth Bruce Montgomery Trophy.  

“It’s a massive honour, this one might have a little asterisk beside it being only nine games but yeah it’s incredible to win this award again,” he said.  

“I thought I was pretty consistent with my form, there’s obviously a lot of help going around in that midfield with some handy players there like (Tom) Gribble, Lobba (Lobbe) and Brewy (Dom Brew).“

“Those guys always contribute well and it’s always good to get feed work off Lobba and a few handballs off Gribble and Brewy, it all helps having those guys there.” 

“I’m very lucky to be at this club, it’s a very loyal club and I’m just thankful for all the support they’ve provided not only to me, but all the players and staff.” 

For Hanson, adding to the excitement of another Bruce Montogomery Trophy win is a personal milestone as he and partner Kat are set to welcome their first child in the coming weeks.  

Bruce Montogomery Trophy
Final Leaderboard

1.     Matt Hanson               44 votes
2.    Shaun Mannagh        36 votes
3.    Jack Henderson         34 votes
4.    Hudson Garoni           32 votes
5.    Matt Lobbe                  31 votes
6.    Tom Gribble                30 votes
7.    Michael Sodomaco   28 votes
       Max Spencer               28 votes
9.   Bior Malual                   27 votes
10.  Dom Brew                    26 votes
      Jesse Clark                  26 votes
12.  Nick Coughlan            24 votes
      Nathan Cooper          24 votes

Shaun Mannagh

After missing this year’s opening round clash against Collingwood, 2021 Bruce Montogomery Trophy runner-up Shaun Mannagh took little time to announce himself as a Werribee player.  

After signing with the club for 2020 and waiting more than a year to pull on the Big W, Mannagh was the club’s best player in his round 2 debut gathering 25 disposals against Williamstown.  

Over the remaining seven games of 2021 the 24 year-old collected 20 or more disposals on three occasions while kicking multiple goals in five outings to end the campaign with 15 majors. 

Mannagh also received this year’s Trainers and Property awards voted on by the medical training staff and the club’s property volunteers respectively.  

Several other players claimed multiple honours including Jack Henderson, who along with his best ever finish (3rd) in a Werribee best and fairest count, collected the 2021 Coaches Award.  

Midfield hard-nut Dom Brew added another Most Courageous Player Award and was also voted the Players’ Player for this season.  

Max Spencer who will depart the club and return home to Queensland this offseason was named the Best Defensive Player, with fellow defender Jesse Clark awarded Best First Year Player honours after an impressive debut season. 

Rising forward Hudson Garoni was named the Most Improved Player after announcing himself as one of the competition’s most promising key position prospects.

Additionally, captain Michael Sodomaco received Werribee Life Membership after notching his 100th game for the club in early 2021. 

Sodomaco who has been at the club since 2011 reached triple figures in round 3 with the team enjoying an 81-point victory over Richmond.  

Club Chaplin Andrew Seedhom was the recipient of the Ray Smith Club Person Award for his volunteer contributions with the team.

2021 Award Winners

Property Award: Shaun Mannagh
Trainers Award: Shaun Mannagh
Community Award: Ryan Pendlebury:
Ray Smith Club Person: Andrew Seedhom
Local Player Award: Matt Brett (Darley)
Best First Year Player: Jesse Clark
Most Improved: Hudson Garoni
Most Courageous: Dom Brew
Players’ Player: Dom Brew
Leading Goal Kicker: Wylie Buzza (20 goals)
Best Defensive Player: Max Spencer
Life Membership: Michael Sodomaco

Gold Partners
  • CSCG
  • KFC


© Werribee Football Club. All rights reserved. Website by Red Onion Creative.


  • 1300 GO WERRIBEE

  • Fax: (03) 9741 0253

  • PO Box 2049 Werribee VIC 3030