Super Six Re-sign!

03 December 2020

Werribee’s list for the 2021 VFL and East Coast second-tier competition has begun taking shape with a core group of players recommitting to the club for a season like no other.

Long-standing skipper Michael Sodomaco will return to Avalon Airport Oval for an 11th year as he aims to join a select group of Werribee players to don the black and gold 100 times.

Three-time Bruce Montgomery trophy winner Matt Hanson returns for season 2021 in a massive boost for Werribee’s engine room. A fit-again Hanson is raring to go after injuries interrupted his previous two seasons at the club.

Nick Coughlan has recommitted to the club for a fourth year, with the swingman looking to recapture his stellar 2019 form which yielded VFL Team of the year honours and a podium finish in the club’s best and fairest.

Exciting wingmen Bior Malual and Kye Declase also enjoyed breakout VFL campaigns in 2019 and have extended their stay at Chirnside Park.

Rounding out this batch of re-signed Werribee players is veteran ruckman Matthew Lobbe who joined the club ahead of the 2020 season after more than a decade in the AFL system with Port Adelaide and briefly Carlton.

Lobbe will assume the role as playing ruck coach/midfield assistant .

Stay tuned for more player re-signings & the unveiling of new recruits in the coming days and weeks.

Gold Partners
  • ABC Homes
  • CSCG
  • KFC


© Werribee Football Club. All rights reserved. Website by Red Onion Creative.


  • 1300 GO WERRIBEE

  • Fax: (03) 9741 0253

  • PO Box 2049 Werribee VIC 3030