2018 departures

With its 2019 playing list recently finalised, the Werribee Football Club would like to acknowledge its departed players from 2018.


A total of 26 players have moved on from Avalon Airport Oval in the off-season, which includes new AFL draftees, players continuing their state-league careers elsewhere, and players returning to local clubs.

As previously reported at werribeefc.com.au, Sam Collins and Josh Corbett have become Werribee’s latest graduates to the AFL ranks after being snapped up by the Gold Coast Suns, while Ben Moloney (St Mary’s) and Jake Sharp and Nathan Laracy (Myrtleford) are continuing their careers in the Geelong Football League and Ovens & Murray Football Leagues respectively after announcing their retirements from VFL football.

Forward Andrew Hooper has also called time on his state-league career, returning to hometown Ballarat as a playing assistant coach with the Ballarat Football Club in the Ballarat Football League.

Hooper made a big impact in his one year at Werribee, booting 33 goals to finish as the club’s leading goalkicker and notching his 100th VFL games against Footscray in round six.

His finishes his VFL career with 112 games with Williamstown, North Ballarat, and Werribee.

Kurt Aylett, Nick Buykx, and Jade Cleeland have also all departed Avalon Airport Oval, though all three will continue their state-league careers elsewhere.

Aylett has returned to Essendon – where he spent three seasons on the club’s AFL list – as a VFL-listed player, while Buykx and Cleeland have joined Williamstown and SANFL side West Adelaide respectively.

While injury restricted Aylett’s game time in his three years at Avalon Airport Oval, he was a key member of the leadership group in that period and was finally rewarded for his persistence with third place in last year’s best and fairest.

Werribee would also like to acknowledge the following departed players:

Harrison King
Brad Xavier
Josh Porter
Jason Robinson
Isaac Miller
Harry Boyd
Jack Williams
Charlie Bance
Brenton Rees
Joshua Mould
Luke Hitch
Jack Brauman
Spiros Amarantidis
Cassidy Parish
Charlie Francis
Fabian Brancatisano
Julian Lockwood

Rounding out the list of 2018 players who are not part of the 2019 list is Ethan Petterwood, who will continue to train at Avalon Airport Oval in pursuit of further opportunities at a later date.

The Werribee Football Club would like to thank all of its departed players from 2018 for their services and wish them all the very best for the next step of their football journeys.

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Godings
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web
  • The Gordon