Nott and McNamara re-sign

Werribee has further consolidated it list depth with the re-signing of ruckman Nick Nott and defender Ben McNamara.

The new contracts follow promising first years at Avalon Airport Oval for both players as part of Werribee’s first standalone VFL side in 19 years.

The 2019 season will be the third in the VFL for Nott, who joined Werribee after seven games with North Ballarat in 2017.

The 23-year-old big man made his debut in the “big W” in the opening round of the 2018 season and had shaped as one of his the club’s big success stories after twice being named among the best players in the opening five games.

However, his season was brought to an abrupt end when he ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament during the third quarter of Werribee’s round-five home clash with Collingwood.

Werribee football operations manager Stuart Balloch said the club was optimistic Nott would bounce back strongly from the setback.

“For Nick’s season to end the way it did last year was really disappointing, particularly after how well he started, but his application to his rehabilitation and attitude throughout has been first class,” Balloch said.

“We’re hopeful he can return bigger and better than before and continue to provide good support for the likes of Jack Berry in that ruck/forward role.”

McNamara joined Werribee as one of the stars of the 2017 Geelong Football League premiership-winning St Joseph’s side.

After continuing his stellar work down back for the Joeys, the Torquay and Geelong Falcons product was rewarded with a VFL debut in Werribee’s thrilling one-point home victory against Essendon in round 15.

He proved himself a reliable contributor in his four games before returning to the GFL late in the season to help guide the Joeys to a third flag in four years.

“Ben faced a big challenge last year in stepping up from local footy, but he showed himself to be a capable VFL player when given an opportunity late in the season,” Balloch said.

“We’re developing some real depth with our defensive setup, and we think Ben will again have a role to play for us there.”


Max Augerinos
Michael Barlow
Ryley Barrack
Joel Bennett
Jack Berry
Dom Brew
Scott Carlin
Nick Coughlan
Kye Declase
Aiden Domic
Jackson Edwards
Keegan Gray
Tom Gribble
Matt Hanson
Ryan Hebron
Jack Henderson
Timm House
Oscar Junker
Joe Maishman
Dane McFarlane
Ben McNamara
Matthew Munro
Daniel Nielson
Nick Nott
Louis Pinnuck
Michael Sodomaco
Max Spencer

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 006-western-truck-repairs
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Godings
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web
  • The Gordon